Episcopal Diocese of Virginia
The Episcopal Church »  |  The Diocese of Virginia

Clergy, Staff & Vestry


Priest-in-Charge      vacant



Cynthia F. Arnold, Parish Administrator

 Cynthia Arnold served as Parish Administrator at Grace Church, Keswick for 21 years, Administrative Assistant at Orange Presbyterian Church for 2 years and has been the Financial Secretary for St. Thomas, Orange since 2013.

Cynthia graduated from Longwood College in 1979. She taught elementary school for 6 years and then found her calling to church administration. She and her husband, Doug, have three children and one grandson.

She has volunteered for The Recording for the Blind and Dyslexic and Christian Emergency Council. She enjoys genealogical research, reading, movies, television, sewing, quilting, writing, gardening, traveling with her husband, Doug, and spending time with her family.


Thomas E. May, Jr., Organist

A native of Gordonsville, Tom May has served as organist at Christ Church for over three decades.

An accomplished musician, he is well known in the area. A fond memory is playing a Christmas concert at the famous Wanamaker Organ in Philadelphia. In addition to music, Tom is well known for his innovative work with flower arranging frequently conducting workshops in the art. He lends his talent in this area to Christ Church’s magnificent Christmas and Easter decorations.


Benjamin C. Armistead, Choirmaster

Ben Armistead has been choirmaster at Christ Church for over thirty years.  A graduate of Samford University in Birmingham, Alabama, Ben sang with that school’s famed a cappella choir. He was also active in student government serving as president of the student body.

Ben enjoys reading and spoiling his dogs and cat. He has served several terms on the Christ Church vestry.


Sharon L. Chapman, Sexton


 The Vestry

Class of 2024: Kevin Cordray, Junior Warden, Shepherd P. Parrish

Class of 2025: Lorraine A. Pollard, Claudia S. Shiflett, Registrar, Millicent C. Travis, Senior Warden

Class of 2026: Susan E. Peck, Michael J. Silberman

Treasurer: Pauline Vismer



Parish Trustees

Greta Shaw,   Claudia Shiflett,   Carolyn Smith